Finding “My inner compass”

There is only one month left in Spain. Time flies and my brains are working overtime to keep up all those beautiful memories. But unfortunately only photos can be so precise that they will not fade away … There have been too many great moments to remember them all, but the whole idea and overall feeling, I cherish. And I have a full backpack that I can take back home with me, I know that already. A both physical and psychological backpack, you know….

Er is nog maar één maand over in Spanje. De tijd vliegt en mijn hersenen draaien overuren om al die mooie herinneringen bij te houden. Maar helaas zijn enkel foto’s zo nauwkeurig dat ze niet vervagen… Er zijn te veel mooie momenten geweest om ze allemaal te kunnen onthouden, maar het hele idee en algehele gevoel koester ik. En ik heb een volle rugzak die ik terug mee naar huis kan nemen, dat weet ik nu al. Een zowel fysische als psychologische rugzak, weet je wel….

I just wonder what I will do with it. One thing is already certain: Erasmus has changed me. Maybe not so much that first layer of my personality that is on the surface, and which is rather superficial, but it certainly has touched something deep inside me. It has put my world upside down, and I am still blown away by it. This is a dream from which I do not want wake up, I want to do everything to give. the life I lead now here an extension. I want this to be my new way of life.

Ik vraag me alleen af wat ik ermee zal doen. Eén ding is nu al zeker: Erasmus heeft mij veranderd. Misschien niet zo zeer die eerste laag van mijn persoonlijkheid die aan het oppervlak ligt, en nogal oppervlakkig is, maar zeker heeft het iets diep in me geraakt. Het heeft mijn wereld op zijn kop gezet, en ik ben er tot op heden nog steeds ondersteboven van. Dit is een droom waaruit ik niet wakker wil worden, ik wil er alles aan doen om het leven dat ik nu leid een extensie te geven. Ik wil dat dit mijn nieuwe manier van leven wordt.

tumblr_inline_mj8d9ozqTt1qz4rgp

And that’s really what this is all about: all my previous principles and worldviews have been given another dimension. As you already could read before I have wild plans to continue studying, doing an internship abroad and yes, I’m young and reckless: I have those sneaky dream to improve the world. Well, tourism continues to excite me … I know that.

En dat is eigenlijk waarover dit allemaal gaat: al mijn voorgaande principes en wereldbeelden hebben een andere dimensie gekregen. Zoals jullie eerder al konden lezen, heb ik wilde plannen om verder te studeren, een buitenlandse stage te doen en jawel hoor, ik ben jong en roekeloos: heb die stiekeme droom om de wereld te verbeteren. Nu ja, het toerisme blijft me prikkelen… Dat weet ik wel.

In recent months I have experienced a whole new way of studying in Spain, not only in terms of “strategy”, but also the approach to tourism here is completely different. There is more emphasis on Destination Management, Political Policy and Conservation of our Heritage. It fascinates me all so much more than what we learn in Belgium on tourism classes: business travel, cruises, aviation, travel agencies, … I don’t know if you can feel the difference between the purely economical side and what feels more as ‘the foundation’ of tourism to me. The basis of tourism is a good policy. The vision and real ‘caring’ about what contains our beautiful world. That is quite different from the continuous selling of mass and luxury products to customers who only care about their annual holiday! Well, I’ve found my passion. I’m sure now!

In de afgelopen maanden heb ik in Spanje een hele nieuwe manier van studeren ervaren, niet alleen qua ‘strategie’, maar ook de benadering van het toerisme is hier helemaal anders. Er wordt meer nadruk gelegd op Destination Management, het Politieke Beleid en de Conservatie van ons Erfgoed. Het boeit me allemaal zoveel meer dan wat we in België leren over toerisme: zakenreizen, cruises, luchtvaart, reisbureaus, … Ik weet niet of jullie het verschil kunnen voelen tussen het puur economische en wat voor mij meer als ‘de fundering’ van het toerisme aanvoelt. De basis van het toerisme is een goed beleid. De visie en het werkelijk ‘zorgen’ om wat onze mooie wereld bevat. Dat is toch heel wat anders dan het continu verkopen van massa- en luxeproducten aan klanten die enkel geven om hun jaarlijkse vakantieperiode?! Nu ja, ik heb mijn passie gevonden. Dat weet ik zeker nu!

sustainabletourism1

So I’m sure I want to go further than the direction I was sent in with my Bachelor of Tourism and Recreation Management, and that is super good! I am very grateful for that! But apart from that study thing, I also started thinking about going home….

Dus ik ben ook zeker dat ik verder wil gaan dan de richting die ik met mijn Bachelor in Toerisme- en Recreatie Management wordt opgestuurd, en dat is super goed! Ik ben er erg dankbaar voor! Maar los van dat studiegebeuren, begin ik stilletjes aan ook aan het naar huis gaan te denken….

I’m not homesick, at all… I cherish every moment more and more, and I realize that every day is one day less in Spain, and therefore one day to enjoy EXTRA and to be grateful for the beach that is just 25 footsteps from my apartment, for the sun which always shines and the eternal carefree Spanish lifestyle. I will miss it enormously!

Ik heb geen heimwee, integendeel… Ik koester elk moment meer en meer, en besef dat elke dag een dag minder in Spanje is, en daardoor een dag meer om EXTRA te genieten en dankbaar te zijn voor het strand dat hier op amper 25 voetstappen van mijn flat ligt, de zon die altijd schijnt en de eeuwig onbezorgde Spaanse levensstijl. Ik zal het enorm missen!

529444_616444695050667_1243585710_n

But then I think of my home. I ask myself more and more the question of what my life in Belgium represents, or rather: my life in Belgium should be the reflection of my personality and it is not. You know, I wonder where I’ve been sending myself to and where I thought that I was going to? I had the steering wheel in my  hands and drove at random. It’s not that I regret it, because without the path I have traveled this far, of course I had not end up here. I just wonder whether it is not better to take my steering wheel firmer in the hands now that I know what direction I want to go out …

Maar ik denk dus aan mijn thuis. Ik stel mezelf meer en meer de vraag wat mijn leven in België voorstelt, of beter gezegd: mijn leven in België zou de weerspiegeling van mijn persoonlijkheid moeten zijn, en dat is het niet. Weet je, ik vraag me af waar ik mezelf heb heen gestuurd en waar ik dacht heen te gaan? Ik had het stuur in de handen en reed in het wilde weg. Ik heb er geen spijt van, want zonder het pad dat ik tot hier heb afgelegd, had ik hier natuurlijk niet geraakt. Ik vraag me alleen af of het niet beter is om het stuur wat steviger in handen te nemen nu ik weet welke richting ik uit wens te gaan…

I do not know the destination yet, but I have a feeling that I found the “compass of life”: knowing where the north is, is enough for now. And let us say that the north (or south or whatever you want to call it), is my heart feeling. I know which direction I should follow to follow my heart. I want to listen to my inner compass.

Ik ken de bestemming nog niet, maar ik heb het gevoel dat ik zopas het “kompas van het leven” heb gevonden: weten waar het noorden ligt, is voorlopig al voldoende. En laat ons bij deze dan maar zeggen, dat het noorden (of het zuiden of hoe je het ook wil noemen), mijn hartsgevoel is. Ik weet welke richting ik moet volgen om mijn hart te volgen. Ik wil luisteren naar mijn innerlijke kompas.

the compass of life

If I’m back in Belgium in July, my life will be back to normal very soon. I already know that now. And to avoid getting back into the old routine, I need to analyze properly what needs to change. And exactly that is what has I have kept me busy in my head the past few weeks…

Als ik in juli daar terug in België ben, zal mijn leven heel snel terug bij het oude zijn. Dat weet ik nu al. En om te voorkomen dat ik terug in de oude sleur herval, moet ik nu goed analyseren wat er moet veranderen. En precies daarmee heb ik mij de afgelopen weken in mijn hoofd bezig gehouden…

I study and that is neat, keep it that way. I work in a travel agency, and that is good as long as I study. But I have to avoid that the security will hold me there. I need time to dare to let go and to choose for the uncertainty of something new, but it does not have to be now. I rent an apartment in a neighborhood where I actually do not know anybody; I have really nothing that could hold me there, because I need to spend several hours every day on the road towards my school. There’s the rub, and so I began to ask myself why I live there? Why it suddenly feels like my own home is my ivory tower? I have the most beautiful apartment that a 21-year-old could imagine, and the price is relatively okay, but it’s lonely and empty. I have cats and they make the atmosphere, along with the decoration. But are cats and decoration a reason to stay where you don’t belong? They are both movable, so I wonder if I’d better not move from house again.

Ik studeer en dat is netjes, houden zo. Ik werk in een reisbureau, en ook dat is goed, zolang ik studeer. Maar ik moet vermijden dat de zekerheid me daar zal vasthouden. Ik moet op tijd durven los te laten en voor de onzekerheid van iets nieuws te kiezen, maar dat hoeft nu nog niet te zijn. Ik huur een appartement in een buurt waar ik eigenlijk niemand ken, waar ik eigenlijk niets te zoeken heb, want ik moet elke dag meerdere uren onderweg spenderen richting mijn school. Daar wringt het schoentje, en zo begon ik mezelf af te vragen: waarom woon ik daar? Waarom voelt het plots alsof mijn eigen huis mijn ivoren toren is? Ik heb het mooiste appartement dat een 21-jarige zich kan inbeelden, en de prijs is relatief oké, maar het is eenzaam en leeg. Ik heb katten en die maken de sfeer, samen met de decoratie. Maar zijn katten en decoratie een reden om ergens te blijven waar je niet op je plaats zit? Ze zijn beiden verplaatsbaar, dus vraag ik me af of ik niet beter opnieuw zou verhuizen.

1357836831576439Moreover, the idea of ​​loneliness bubbled up in me when I began to think about living on my own again … I’ve lived here for 4 months with two girls together in an apartment, which is about the same size than my apartment in Belgium. It certainly did not go smoothly, that living together, but even the unpleasant part I start to like. It begins to change me, I am very dutifully and normally everything needs to go according to a certain structure, everything should be neat, and everything has a fixed position and I have a fixed cleaning day. Here everything is different: we hardly clean, there is anything but structure and regularity, and to be honest: it goes really well.

Bovendien is de idee over eenzaamheid in me opgeborreld toen ik begon te denken aan het terug alleen wonen… Ik woon hier nu al 4 maandenlang met 2 meiden samen in één appartement, dat ongeveer dezelfde grootte heeft dan mijn appartement in België. Het is zeker niet op rolletjes gelopen, dat samenleven, maar zelfs het onaangename begin ik leuk te vinden. Het begint me te veranderen: ik ben heel plichtsbewust en normaalgezien moet alles volgens een bepaalde structuur verlopen, moet alles netjes zijn, en heeft alles een vaste plaats en een vaste poetsdag. Hier is alles anders: er wordt amper gepoetst, is allesbehalve structuur en regelmaat en het loopt eigenlijk prima.

I feel that because of the chaos there comes more tranquility in my life. A very strange but innovative experience! And also: even though we do not talk all the time, and we are certainly not the best friends in the world … I’m never alone. There is always someone at home when I get home, and there is always some movement and impulse around me. I’m going to miss that, I will need more of that. I feel that it is good for me. I always thought it would make me nervous and that it would bring me out of balance. And I thought I would long for a night alone on the sofa to be able to read a book quietly … But nothing less is true! I fooled myself.

Ik voel dat er door de chaos meer rust in mijn leven komt. Een heel vreemde maar vernieuwende ervaring! En bovendien:  ook al praten we niet altijd, en zijn we zeker niet de beste vriendinnen ter wereld… Ik ben nooit alleen. Er is altijd iemand thuis als ik thuis kom, en er is altijd wat beweging en impuls rondom me heen. Dat ga ik missen, dat ga ik meer nodig hebben. Ik voel dat het goed voor me is. Ik dacht altijd dat het me zenuwachtig zou maken en uit balans zou brengen. En ik dacht dat ik zou verlangen naar een avondje alleen op de sofa om rustig een boek te kunnen lezen… Maar niets is minder waar! Ik heb mezelf voor de gek gehouden.

life-quote-life-quotes-make-sense-quote-quotes-world-Favim.com-62127_large

I lived the life of a lonely woman, not the life of a busy student. I feel I’m ready for the real student life: surrounded by equal-minded people from the same age with vision and dreams, and not by plants and cats that bring “tranquility” in my life. So I have to re-organize some things in my life, once I’m back in Belgium … And how I will do that exactly, I have no idea yet. Miracles, I cannot do of course, and unfortunately magic is not an option. And the reality is the reality, and I have to think rationally, instead of only sitting there daydreaming … But I do know that I will make work of this visions!

Ik leefde het leven van een eenzame vrouw, niet van een bezige student. Ik voel dat ik klaar ben voor het echte studentenleven: omsingeld door gelijkgezinde leeftijdsgenoten met visie en dromen, en niet door planten en katten die “rust” brengen in mijn leven. Ik moet dus het een en ander op zijn plaats verschuiven, eens ik terug in België ben… En hoe ik dat precies zal doen, daar heb ik nog geen idee van. Wonderen kan ik natuurlijk niet doen, en toveren al helemaal niet. En de realiteit is de realiteit, en ik moet ook rationeel denken, in plaats van enkel maar te dagdromen… Maar ik weet wel dat ik van dit inzicht werk zal maken!

im-possible

Back in Belgium a new challenge is waiting for me: transforming my old life to my new world perspective!

Eens terug in België staat me dus een nieuwe uitdaging te wachten: mijn oude leven transformeren naar mijn nieuwe wereldbeeld!

I will go for my driving license (finally!), work hard all summer, follow my heart, finish my studies and apply for a new degree, search for a way out of my current lifestyle and go on an internship. And study hard: improve my Spanish and (academic) English skills! And I cannot forget about implementing the secret of the Spanish lifestyle in my Belgian existence: always “Tranquila”, or how we say in Flanders: “Hurry and rush is rarely good!”

Ik zal voor mijn rijbewijs gaan (eindelijk!), een zomer lang hard werken, mijn hart volgen, mijn studie afmaken en voor een nieuwe studie kandidatuur stellen, een uitweg in mijn huidige levenssituatie zoeken en op stage gaan. En hard studeren: mijn Spaans en (academisch) Engels moet verbeteren! En ik mag vooral niet vergeten om het geheim van de Spaanse levensstijl mee te nemen in mijn Belgische bestaan: altijd “Tranquila”, of op zijn Vlaams gezegd: “Haast en spoed, is zelden goed!”

There’s a lot to do for me so! And the thoughts in my mind grow bigger….

Er staat me heel wat te doen dus! En de hersenspinsels groeien verder….

More about it later..  😉

3 responses to “Finding “My inner compass”

  1. Hi Julie,

    This is Summer from howisshe.wordpress.com. You liked my post about different perspectives, so I came over here to see what you are up to.

    My initial response was funny to me now, especially after writing a post about the benefits of being able to use multiple perspectives. I saw that with a blog about traveling and said Oh I’m not interested in that! I almost left and would not have continued. Superficial reasons, you betcha.

    But then I read a few paragraphs and realized, “Duh!” People who are travel get to see different perspectives! The circumstances of my life have not enabled me to me to travel. But see more clearly what travel can do for us.

    Thank you for that mini, “Travel give us many perspectives. I look forward to following your blog.

Leave a Reply

