Ecuador: Meeting the Family!

After travelling for 23 hours from Brussels to Amsterdam to Quito, I finally reached my destination. Was it because I was sleepy or wasn’t I realizing what was all happening to me? I just said goodbye for 3,5 months to my boyfriend, cats, family and best friend… Again I left for a new adventure, all alone in the unknown. For the first time it made me feel uncomfortable without stressing me out. I just decided to go with the flow and take this time to live life and see how life can surprise people.

Arriving in Quito, about 2850 meters above the sea level was an unforgettable experience. Right after the airplane came out of the clouds, there was this amazing landscape that took my breath away… The aerial views over the Andes were anything like what I expected. The mountains, rivers, villages and nature had something magical and I felt immediately that this country was really special.

Aereal view Quito 1

Then secondly, after I came out of the airport’s arrival hall (to smoke my first cigarette in hours) I was overwhelmed by the typical smell of Latin America. Just smelling the air made me feel like coming home again somehow someway. I guess I just love the air in this part of the world. It is very distinct from our air in Europe.

After another taxi ride of 1 hour, I finally reached my guest family house. It was raining and already becoming dark, I was kind of exhausted and the pressure of being so high in the mountains gave me a small headache. But I put myself together, met the wonderful and very hospitable family members, had a first dinner with them and talked a little in Spanish. I feel like I have to fresh up my language skills again, but it goes surprisingly well already. No English, por favor!

Host family front

The guest house in area Mariscal Sucre

Host family

Family hosts: Francisco Jiron & Ana Maria Ziritt

As I expected from the pictures they had sent me, the house was very nice and clean. My room was rather small, but really a good quality from Ecuadorian norms. There is a little noise from the traffic in the streets around, but overall I am happy with the place. I unpacked my bags, and around 9 PM local time (3 AM in Belgium) I finally got to bed… Tired but satisfied. I decided to take it easy as he next day is a Sunday, and there is no need to rush things as I am here for a long time.

photo (1)

Hasta pronto!

Un beso,

Julie

3 responses to “Ecuador: Meeting the Family!

  1. Hey Julie, prachtig avontuur weer, maar misschien ook een beetje in jou moedertaal vertellen? Dan kan ik beter volgen…dikke kus, en stel het wel hé
    groetjes
    Lea

    • Hola Lea!
      Leuk dat je weer mee leest…
      Ik ga dit keer enkel in het Engels schrijven omdat 95% van de volgers dan wel kan ‘volgen’ en het heel wat vertaalwerk bespaart…. Maar als je Google Chrome gebruikt, kan je bovenaan de taakbalk aanduiden: “Deze pagina is geschreven in het Engels. Wil je deze laten vertalen? VERTALEN” 😉 Hopelijk helpt dat!
      Julie

Leave a Reply

