My Galápagos Dream Journey – 2: Santa Fé

2: SANTA FÉ

Day 2 of my independent travels in the Galapagos Islands, and I was ready for the second day trip to Santa Fé. I woke up early, slept like a baby and enjoyed finally having some privacy: walking naked in my room (anyone recognise this feeling, lol). Even the cold water shower could not bother me… I had the best breakfast in ages in a local bar called ‘Galapagos Deli’ where you can absorbe the wonderful smell of fresh baked bread from miles away in the street. Loved it!

At 8AM I tried my snorkel equipment on in Mocking Bird Travel Agency and met my fellow travellers for today there: a boy from Ireland on his world trip and a girl from New Zealand on her South American discovery voyage. Hehe… Great to hang around with some other young backpackers with a free state of mind.

Islas de Galapagos santa fe

We had a nice boat for the day and a somewhat less nice guide, who took us to the first snorkel place. As he did not make me feel comfortable in a rough open sea to do some deepwater snorkeling, I decided to put my lifevest on during the snorkeling. It would make me burn less anyway. We were driven by the current to the other side of the cove, where the boat waited for us.

The water was pretty cold and I felt quite released to get back on the boat after an hour snorkeling, but I saw a lot of great special animals: King Angelfish, Blue-Chin Parrotfish, a school of Razor Surgeonfish, a Stingray and top of all: a shark from about 1 meter swimming right in front and around me.

king angelfish

King Angelfish

razor surgeonfish

A school of Razor Surgeonfish

It was the best snorkel trip so far, and probably one of the best of the whole Galapagos trip! Therefor, I would like to recommend this day trip to everyone who wants to enjoy the underwater world of the Islands here…

StingRay

Sting Ray

The next stop with the boat was along the peninsula and island that juts out into the bay. I have had great times playing with the sea lions here, as they come very close and you can swim right up to the rocks. We just had to make sure that we stayed together as a group because the National Park regulations are very strict when it comes to the animal life and touris. After that, we head back to the boat for some cold drinks and then into the water directly from the boat.

Islas de Galapagos santa fe snorkel

Great time having fun, and this time without the lifevest in the turquoise blue water!

Islas de Galapagos santa fe

The best moment was when I put my head up and sea the sealions face above the water, and when I went back down in the water, I saw his whole body moving. Eye in eye with nature, a very unique experience with wild life!

sea lion

Sea lions playing around

After this amazing time, it was time for lunch on the boat, which is always very cosy and special. Usually they serve rice, fish, vegetables and lots of lime with a fresh juice of the day. It was good to eat as you get very hungry after all the morning snorkeling around…

Islas de Galapagos santa fe

I also took some pictures of the life above the water afterwards as I spotted blue footed boobies and Swallow-tailed Gulls.

Last but not least, we had a wetlanding at Playa Escondida on our way back to Santa Cruz. This beach is also called ‘the hidden beach’. The water was cristal clear, the temperature as well outside as in the water perfect and the waves swept me away so much that I felt like as I was in paradise for real. This was heaven… Until I got so sunburned that I had to look for shadow under my towel 😉

Islas de Galapagos playa escondida

Playa Escondida

On the last boat ride back to Puerto Ayora I did a siesta, and once back I took a fresh shower in the hostel and put AFTER SUN x 10000000.

Islas de Galapagos santa fe

Then it was time for another well deserved dinner with the people I met on the boat and with the motto of the day: no shoes, no shirts, no stress… And no make-up 😉

At night I went to the internet cafe to write my internship diary report and did some research with local people about volunteer possiblities for Yanapuma. Well, this was life and without a doubt the best internship ever!

Next stop: FLOREANA (3) –> Keep following for the next destination 

From Julie with Love

Leave a Reply

